Professional and Career Development



ITE's annual international awards program honors outstanding achievements in transportation and distinguished service to ITE. The awards bestow international recognition upon the recipients and increase the public’s awareness of the role and responsibilities of the transportation professional. 


ITE Awards Program Information

Find everything you need to know about ITE's Awards Program, including eligibility requirements, submission guidelines, judging criteria, and deadlines using the links below.  Congratratulations to the 2022 award recipients who were honored at ITE's Annual Meeting and Exposition. The 2023 nomination period begins January 1. Awards criteria and requirements are currently being reviewed and updates will be posted in the coming weeks for the 2023 awards program. 



Burton W. Marsh Award for Distinguished Service

Theodore M. Matson Memorial Award

Wilbur S. Smith Distinguished Transportation Educator Award

Transportation Achievement Awards

Young Member of the Year Award

District Rising Stars (see Young Member Link above for information)


DISTRICT/SECTION AWARDS  (Who is my District Awards Coordinator?)

District Innovation Award

Outstanding Section Award

Section Momentum Award



Daniel B. Fambro Student Paper Award

Outstanding Student Chapter Award

Student Chapter Momentum Aw ard

Highway Safety Information System (HSIS) Student Research Paper Competition



Council Leadership Team Best Project and Outstanding Volunteer Awards

Consultants Council Nelson J. Shaffer Distinguished Consultant Award

Traffic Engineering Council Troy A. Peoples Award

Public Agency Council Achievement Award

Transportation Systems Management & Operations Council: Individual/Organization Awards

Safety Council Individual/Organization Edmund R. Ricker Awards

Transportation Education Council Innovation in Education Award

ITE Pedestrian and Bicycle Standing Committee John LaPlante Award

ITE Roundabout Standing Committee Innovative Multilane Roundabout of Merit Award


Congratulations to the 2022 Excellence in Transportation Award Recipients!

International Awards | District-Level Awards | Student Awards |  Council and Committee Awards


Burton W. Marsh Award for
Distinguished Service

Jeffrey A. Lindley, P.E.
Theodore M. Matson
Memorial Award
Dr. Chandra R. Bhat
Wilbur S. Smith
Transportation Educator Award 

Dr. Darcy M. Bullock, P.E.
Young Member of the Year
Keith M. Hall, P.E., PTOE

Transportation Achievement -
Complete Streets:
City of Calgary & Urban Systems, Ltd

Transportation Achievement - 
TSMO : STC Traffic

Transportation Achivement - 
Safety: Toole Design
(with the City of New Orleans)

Transportation Achievement - 
Planning: District Department 
of Transportation for moveDC

Transportation Achievement - 
Traffic Engineering: WSP, City of Hays, KDOT, Kirkham Michael, and Smoky Hill Construction 

District Innovation Award
Southern District of ITE

Section Momentum Award
Southern California Section of ITE

Outstanding Section Award
North Carolina Section of ITE

Daniel B. Fambro Student 
Paper Award
Md Shakir Mahmud

Student Chapter Award
Purdue University Student 
Chapter of ITE

Stdent Chapter Momentum
Portland State University
ITE-STEP Chapter

Congratulations to the
2022 District Rising Stars

Consultants Council 
Distinguished Consultant 
Michael Sanderson, P.E., PTOE

TSMO Council Organization Award 
Wahington Metropolitan
Area Tansit Authority

Transportation Education Council 
Innovation in Education Award
Michigan State University's
Sociomobility Team

Pedestrian and Bicycle Standing 
Committee John LaPlante Award
City of West Linn, OR

HSIS Student Research Paper Competition Results
1st- Norris Novat
Council Leadership Team
2022 Best Project and Outstanding Volunteer Awards



View Pictures

View the 2021 Award Winners Gallery

View a Listing of the 2020 Award Winners



Previous Award Winners

To see a list of previous awards and past winners, please click here.  

    Twitter Facebook LinkedIn YouTube Instagram