Given each year to one individual in recognition of their lasting contributions to the community of transportation professionals.  This award encourages ITE’s Councils to celebrate the efforts and contributions of their volunteers. Each Council may nominate a member to the Council Leadership Team for consideration between December 1-January 15 annually.

Nominations should consider the tenets of the GAVE principles adopted by the Council Leadership Team:

  • Growth – How has the individual contributed to the evolution of practice?
  • Accountability – How has the individual demonstrated ethical conduct?
  • Value – How has the individual contributed to mentoring, diversity, equity, and inclusion through their personal actions?
  • Esteem – How has the individual used their role to raise or reaffirm the importance of ITE’s role in the community of transportation professionals?


Selection Process

The Council Leadership Team Executive Committee and the International President will select the recipient based upon the following considerations:

  • Personal Excellence
    • Devotion of significant time to participation and/or leadership in ITE volunteer activity
    • Diligence in completing volunteer assignments within agreed upon timeframes
  • Technical Excellence
    • High quality work on technical activities of significant benefit to ITE members and the transportation profession

The information submitted in the nomination package should provide insight into the nominee’s technical and professional experience, leadership abilities, involvement with ITE and affiliated councils and committees, and breadth of volunteer experience. Please note: Persons who have attained Honorary Member status, have received the Burton W. Marsh or Theodore M. Matson Awards or have previously received a CLT award are not eligible for nomination. 



The recipient will be notified in advance and announced in conjunction with ITE’s Spring Conference.The recipient will receive a plaque or trophy and announced in ITE Journal.