Professional and Career Development




ITE's Transportation Achievement Awards may be given annually for excellence in the advancement of transportation to meet human needs, by entities concerned with transportation such as governmental agencies, legislative bodies, consulting firms, and industry, and other organizations.

Awards will be presented in the following five categories: Complete Streets, Transportation Systems Management and Operations (TSMO), Traffic Engineering, Planning, and Safety.

These awards recognize an organization/entity for one or more of the following:

  • Development of an innovative concept in the areas of Complete Streets, TSMO, Traffic Engineering, Planning, or Safety.
  • Implementation of a challenging transportation program through perseverance in its development and promotion.
  • A program or project having a significant effect on transportation.
  • A multi-faceted transportation program or project, combining many innovative and/or well-applied concepts.
  • A program or project promoting a major advancement in the efficiency and/or economy of transportation.
  • Projects and initiatives that advance safety for all the travelling public, including pedestrians, cyclists, and users of alternate means of transport. 
  • Innovative and effective application of elements such as roundabouts or speed humps



Eligible recipients for the proposed Transportation Achievement Awards could be:

  • Governmental agencies or entities
  • Transportation consulting firms
  • Private businesses or corporations
  • Combined public/private institutions
  • Academic institutions



Award will consist of a trophy or plaque, given at the ITE Annual Meeting and Exhibition Awards Luncheon, as well as recognition in ITE Journal.


Submission/Selection Process

All nominations for ITE's Transportation Achievement Awards must be submitted by your ITE District Awards Coordinator. The submittal should be in PDF format and limited to a total of five (5) pages that describe the project (including graphics) and indicate how the project meets the criteria for the award. The submission should assist the award committee in   evaluating   the   project against the judging criteria. Multiple categories may be selected when entering a submission; however, entrants may only be recognized in one category.

There should be only one submission per District per category. ITE members should submit nominations to your District Award Coordinator by March 1. District Coordinators should upload nominations to ITE's awards portal by April 1.

Nominations are evaluated by a committee of ITE Board members—the Transportation Achievement Awards Committee and Council chairs.

To be considered for recognition, submissions must be received as one PDF by April 1 via If you have questions, please email


Judging Criteria

30 points – Application of innovative ideas

30 points – Exhibits a commitment to the advancement of the profession

30 points – Strong applicability to the industry

10 points – Well-balanced scope and format



Twitter Facebook LinkedIn YouTube Instagram