Contribute to the $90 for 90 Campaign

Celebrate the Past | Shape the Future

In recognition of the 90th anniversary ITE is launching a fund-raising campaign designed to enhance the reach of the ITE Legacy Program and its work in support of students and younger members.  Members can donate to the ITE Legacy Program General Fund supporting a broad range of activities such as LeadershipITE, Student Leadership Summits, Mentoring, STEM, etc. or direct their giving to ITE’s newest effort, the Diversity Scholars Program supporting first generation college students from diverse backgrounds.


Making a Difference


Diversity Scholars Program

Understanding that being a first-generation college student is incredibly challenging, this program is built on providing multifaceted support: mentoring, internships, ITE student chapter participation, and $4,000 in annual tuition support for up to five years of undergraduate work.

The funding for this year’s scholar is provided through the ITE Legacy Fund. In addition, through the generosity of Diversity Scholars Committee members Hibbett Neel, P.E. (H) and Ken Voigt, P.E. (H), ITE had the privilege of naming not one, but two Diversity Scholars, the second of whom will be supported by Neel and Voigt’s personal contributions.

Jouselyn Lopez,
Legacy Fund
Diversity Scholar
Sebastian Velazquez,
Neel/Voigt Diversity



Student Leadership Summits

To date, there have been 12 student leadership summits hosted by ITE student chapters around the U.S., Canada, and in the ITE Australian and New Zealand Chapter. These programs are planned by students, for students, with a focus on leadership and professional development, and aimed to guide future transportation professionals. More than 1,500 students, across disciplines, and representing every ITE District, have participated in these events since 2016 with the ITE Legacy Fund providing sponsorship for many of these programs.





LeadershipITE helps to identify, develop, and engage leaders to ensure that ITE and its members are positioned to participate and shape the future of transportation. Each year, a class of about 25 young professionals are chosen to take part and develop the leadership skills needed to help us face future challenges. These professionals have a track record of going on to be important leaders of ITE through the Sections, Districts, and at the International Board level. This programs identify leaders who will help ITE continue to evolve into being the premiere transportation association. The Legacy Fund supports LeadershipITE scholarships for those who are unable to secure employer support.


The Future Cities Program, STEM Program and STEM Competition

ITE is a proud sponsor of the Future Cities Program and with the help of the STEM Committee, ITE has amassed a number of activities and presentations that help our members introduce K-12 kids to transportation. Each year our members help educate hundreds of students at events such as the Future Cities Awards and the ITE Annual Meeting STEM Program. In addition, the Legacy Fund is supporting the STEM Outreach Competition among the Sections and Chapters. For more information on this program and how to participate, click here.



Matson and Hammond Mentoring Program

Beginning in the fall of 2018, ITE introduced a virtual mentoring program to help ITE members sign up to be mentors and mentees to connect with others on topics of interest. This program is available through eCommunity and to date, over 85 relationships have taken place.


ITE Legacy Program Oversight Committee

The ITE Legacy Program Oversight Committee was established by the ITE Board of Direction in conjunction with the ITE Past Presidents’ Table. The Committee is chaired by the Immediate Past President and includes four additional Past Presidents. This committee advocates for donations to the Legacy Program and works with the ITE Executive Director and CEO to oversee the administration of the available funding and to establish annual program priorities.

2020 Committee Members

  • Bruce Belmore, P.Eng., PTOE, AVS , Chair
  • W. Hibbett Neel, P.D., P.S
  • Zaki Mustafa, P.E.
  • Jenny L. Grote, P.E., PTOE, PTP
  • Dennis L. Christiansen, Ph.D., P.E.
  • Kenneth H. Voigt, P.E.