The purpose of the award is to recognize an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the practice of traffic engineering. Examples of contributions might involve a practical application of traffic engineering techniques or principles, a valuable contribution through research, the successful adaptation of research findings to a practical traffic situation, or the advancement of the profession through training or administration.



The individual does not need to be an ITE member but should have shown outstanding accomplishments in the field of traffic and transportation engineering.

Officers and directors of ITE are not eligible while on the International Board of Direction.



Award will consist of a trophy or plaque, given at the ITE Annual Meeting and Exhibition Awards Luncheon along with a free registration to the meeting and a guest ticket to the Awards Luncheon.


Selection Process

Award recipients shall be selected by a panel consisting of six members, made up of representatives designated by the following groups:

  • Institute of Transportation Engineers (ITE)
  • American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO)
  • Transportation Research Board (TRB)
  • Federal Highway Administration (FHWA)
  • Intelligent Transportation Society of America (ITS America)
  • WTS

The recipient will be expected to prepare a paper to be published in ITE Journal about the contribution which served as the primary basis for the award or on a related subject.


Nominations are not submitted for this award, rather the recipient is chosen by a selection panel.


Past Award Recipients