Events / Meetings

ITE International Collegiate Traffic Bowl


Each year, since 2009, ITE student chapters from Canada and the United States participate in a competition known as the ITE Collegiate Traffic Bowl. This competition features teams comprised of up to 3 students testing their knowledge of ITE, transportation planning and engineering topics as well as some fun categories. Since the Traffic Bowl was introduced as an international program, 121 ITE student chapters have participated in a traffic bowl tournament at section or district events. The teams winning an ITE district competition advance to compete in the Collegiate Traffic Bowl Grand Championship, conducted annually at ITE’s International Annual Meeting and Exhibit.

In 2021, the Traffic Bowl Grand Championship tournament and all district qualifying events were held virtually due to the COVID-19 global pandemic. The Oregon State University ITE student chapter team won the 2021 tournament and will have their name added to the Voigt/Davis Cup, the trophy for Traffic Bowl Grand Championship  Click here to see the list of previous winners.



The 2021 district tournaments are underway and several have been completed to qualify teams for the Grand Championship.  The results to date and the current schedule is shown below.  For details on participating in your district’s traffic bowl, just click on District Contacts above to view the district traffic bowl coordinators. 

The Grand Championship Traffic Bowl will be conducted on July 21, 2021 during the virtual International Annual Meeting.

 2021 ITE Collegiate Traffic Bowl

2021 District & Grand Championship Tournaments Schedule
Date and Time 
(all times ET)
District Champion
Live Stream LInk
Missouri Valley April 8 University of Arkansas ITE YouTube
Mountain April 10 Brigham Young University ITE YouTube
Southern April 14-15 Clemson University SDITE YouTube
Great Lakes April 10 7 p.m.  University of Minnesota ITE YouTube
Mid-Colonial April 27 4 p.m. Penn State University ITE YouTube
Canadian June 8 7:30 p.m.  University of British Columbia ITE YouTube
Northeastern June 17 7 p.m. New York University ITE YouTube
Texas June 25 1 p.m. Texas A&M University ITE YouTube
Western June 28 5 p.m.  Oregon State University  
Florida Puerto Rico July 1 6 p.m. University of Florida ITE YouTube

Grand Championship

Thanks to Siemens
for their sponsorship of this event

July 21 6:00 pm ET

Oregon State University

ITE YouTube

Thank you to Econolite for their donation of traffic bowl equipment for each of ITE’s Districts.