Professional and Career Development




The ITE Transportation Systems Management & Operations Council (TSMO) Awards are given annually in two categories: individual and organization. The individual award honors the accomplishments of someone in the TSMO/Intelligent Transportation Systems (ITS) field that has, over the course of their career, provided significant benefit to the advancement of TSMO and/or ITS in society. The organization award seeks to recognize organizations that demonstrate the successful use of ITS  technologies to improve the efficiency of surface transportation facilities with significant societal mobility.


Submission/Selection Process

  1. Project/Organization nominations/entries shall include the nominee’s name and supporting documentation describing the organization’s or project’s achievement in TSMO and/or ITS. Cite specific examples, prior awards, and other relevant details.
  2. Individual nominations shall include the nominee’s name and supporting documentation describing nominee’s achievement in TSMO and/or ITS.
  3. The entire package must not exceed 20 pages.
  4. Please upload the nomination package as one PDF via by March 1.
  5. The Council will decide upon the awardee by April 1.
  6. If you have questions, please contact Pete Yauch at with the subject line: TSMO Council Awards.



Each award will consist of a trophy or plaque given at the ITE Annual Meeting and Exhibit and recognition in ITE Journal.




  1. The individual must have significant professional involvement in the areas of transportation management, operations, and/or ITS.
  2. The individual must have demonstrated achievement in the areas of research, planning, implementation, operation, and/or management for the advancement of TSMO/ITS.
  3. ITE membership is not a requirement for this award.


Judging Criteria

  • 30 points – Exhibits engagement with students or young professionals
  • 20 points – Exhibits leadership skills (Leadership with innovation, advocacy, other)
  • 20 points – Exhibits a commitment to the advancement of the profession (Excellence of career achievement, significance of past/current projects)
  • 30 points – Application of innovative ideas to profession/volunteer role




  1. Nominated projects must be completed during the previous calendar year and must produce a product which will have utility to ITE, its members, and/or the profession.
  2. Nominated organizations should exemplify the effective application of TSMO/ITS tools and strategies as a team.
  3. All entries should promote the advancement of TSMO/ITS.
  4. ITE membership is not a requirement to apply.


Judging Criteria

  • 30 points – Application of innovative ideas (Innovation and application of emerging ITS technologies, uniqueness)
  • 20 points – Exhibits a commitment to the advancement of the profession
  • 20 points – Demonstrates a TSMO culture (capability maturity model, TSMO branding, and institution is a plus)
  • 30 points – Strong applicability to the industry


Twitter Facebook LinkedIn YouTube Instagram