Events / Meetings

ITE Transportation and Health Standing Committee

ITE Transportation & Health Standing Committee
December 12, 11am – 12pm PT/ 2pm – 3pm ET




·      Committee Leadership

o   Kelly Rodgers, Chair 

o   Jennifer Bihl, Vice-Chair

o   Jim Mallett, Secretary

o   Tameka Macon-Ryan, Professional Development

o   Luana Broshears, ITE Liaison


·      Roll Call


·      ITE HQ Updates


·      Annual Meeting related

o   Social jointly sponsored by health, equity, transit, sustainability

o   Luana and Kelly met with CDC about collaborating

§  Potential webinar about CDC-funded work in Louisiana

o   Transportation Planning and Complete Streets Council – ITE guidance update  


·      Projects Underway or Completed

o   Completed

§  UHI, parking, and green infrastructure webinar


o   2022 Technical products

§  Webinar: Access to health care – reframe, new panelists?

§  Quickbite: Jennifer Bihl, Tameka Macon-Ryan, Tracy Lehman – Aug 14 AM soft deadline

o   2023 Technical products

§  Methods and tools for active travel – Meeting Sep 8

·      Todd Litman, Bill Scully, Jim Mallett and Complete Streets Council

·      Quick bite or technical brief?

§  MPO health evaluation criteria – Meeting in Sept

·      Todd Litman, Elwyn Gonzalez

§  Making connections to health

·      Revisit purpose and goals

·      Consider appropriate format/style for document

o   On-going:

§  Health and Transportation Resource Hub

·      Teams folder has document for placing recommended resources


·      2024 Action Plan

o   Mission and goals

o   Priority: Ability to leverage energy/resources from other councils, committees, and external agencies


·      News/Updates from ITE Committees and Councils

o   Transportation Planning Council (Jennifer Bihl)

o   Sustainability Committee (Todd Litman)

o   Complete Streets Committee (Bill Scully)

o   Vision Zero Committee (Bill Scully)

o   Transit Committee (Kelly Rodgers)

o   Equity Committee (Vanitha Murthy)


·      News/Updates from External Liaisons and Other Updates

o   TRB Transportation and Public Health Committee (Kelly Rodgers/Carey McAndrews)

  •    USDOT HiNT Working Group (Tameka Macon)

o   UNC Highway Safety Research Center (Alyson West)

o   American Survey Civil Engineers (ASCE), Transportation and Development Institute (Bill Scully)