Vision Zero

ITE Vision Zero Task Force


ITE’s Vision Zero Task Force, formed in 2016, comprises two distinctive groups, the Steering Committee and the Technical Working Group.

The role of the Steering Committee is to provide high-level oversight of the Task Force and its goals, as well as to work within various levels of ITE and partner organizations to disseminate news and products, and collect ideas for future Task Force work. As part of these efforts, the Steering Committee provides direct support to ITE’s Advocacy Committee on Vision Zero-related content.

The role of the Technical Working Group is to engage in the development of technical products and resources, based on initial input from the Steering Committee and the rest of ITE’s councils and committees. The Technical Working Group also directly supports the Steering Committee on the general collection and preparation of Vision Zero materials on an as-needed basis.

Steering Committee Members

The following individuals are current members of the ITE Vision Zero Task Force Steering Committee:



Richard Retting (Chair)

Sam Schwartz Engineering

Beth Alicandri

Federal Highway Administration

Roger Browne

City of Toronto

Shauna Hallmark

Iowa State University

Andrew Kaplan

Port Authority of New York and New Jersey

David Harkey

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Bernardo Kleiner

Transportation Research Board

Beverly Kuhn

Texas A&M Transportation Institute

Steven Lavrenz

Institute of Transportation Engineers

Robert Murphy

RPM Transportation Consultants, LLC

Meghan Mitman

Fehr & Peers

Leah Shahum

Vision Zero Network

Andrew Swisher

Howard R. Green Company

Clay Veka

City of Portland

Marie Walsh

Louisiana State University LTAP

Samuel Zimbabwe

District Department of Transportation



Technical Working Group Members

The following individuals are current members of the ITE Vision Zero Task Force Technical Working Group:



Andrew Kaplan (Chair)

Port Authority of New York

Neil Arason

RoadSafetyBC (British Columbia)

Geni Bahar

Navigats, Inc.

Tim Barnet

Alabama Department of Transportation

John Borkowski

KCI Technologies, Inc.

Ted Curtis

City of Columbia

Scott Davis

National Association of County Engineers

Nat Gale

City of Los Angeles

Kelly Hardy


Chava Kronenberg

City of San Francisco

Steven Lavrenz


David Petrucci

Federal Highway Administration

Rebecca Sanders

Toole Design

Gerard Sofian

New York University

Rob Ritter

Federal Highway Administration

Dana Weissman

Fehr & Peers

Robert Wunderlich

Texas A&M Transportation Institute